- promoting the study of biosocial sciences -

The Geoffrey Harrison Prize Lecture


Professor Geoffrey A. Harrison (1927-2017)

Geoffrey Harrison is one of the most important figures in 20th century Human Biology. He was a key member of the pioneering group of scientists who developed the new Human Biology from the old Physical Anthropology along with Joe Weiner, Derek Roberts, Jim Tanner, Arthur Mourant, Nigel Barnicot and Kenneth Oakley. The expertise and diversity of this group of visionary scientists allowed them to shape the development of human biology over the next 50 years as a discipline in which biology, behaviour and social context worked together to define the human species. Geoffrey Harrison was for many years Professor and Head of the Department of Biological Anthropology at the University of Oxford.

The Prize Lecture is awarded annually in Geoffrey Harrison’s honour to persons who have made a substantial and sustained contribution to the study of the human biology of living populations and especially biosocial sciences.

The inaugural Geoffrey Harrison Lecture was held in 2017.

Past Geoffrey Harrison Lectures

Professor Melissa Parker (London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine), 'Ebola: A Biosocial Journey', November 2017, Oxford

Professor Nick Mascie-Taylor (University of Cambridge), 'From Genes to Latrines: A Biosocial Journey', November 2018, Oxford


The 2019 Geoffrey Harrison Prize Lecture

The 2019 lecture was given on 8th November at Oxford Brookes University by Professor Thomas Leatherman from the Department of Anthropology, University of Massachusetts, Amherst. The title of his talk was:

'Social Change, Human Biology and Shifting Biocultural Perspectives in the Andes'


© Parkes Foundation | Webmaster and Design